She will be the first woman cricketer to be found guilty of a Level 2 breach of the ICC’s code of conduct
24-Jul-2023 • 7 mins ago
India captain Harmanpreet Kaur is likely to be penalised four demerit points for her reaction after being given out and criticising the umpiring during the third and final ODI against Bangladesh, which ended in a tie. While the ICC is yet to send out a media release on the exact penalty, Harmanpreet is in danger of becoming the first woman cricketer to be found guilty of a Level 2 breach of the ICC’s code of conduct, which covers player behaviour.
After being given out caught at slip for 14, Harmanpreet smashed the stumps with her bat, and later, at the post-match presentation, called the standard of umpiring “pathetic” throughout the match.
ESPNcricinfo has learned that the match referee recommended three demerit points for equipment damage and one demerit point for criticising the match officials in public. The final decision will be taken by the ICC. It is understood that the BCCI has been talking to the ICC, and Harmanpreet is also likely to issue a statement.
The last time Harmanpreet got a demerit point was during the semi-final of the Women’s World Cup 2017 against Australia. After working legspinner Kristen Beams through midwicket, she was involved in a mix-up with Deepti Sharma, before they completed the double that brought Harmanpreet’s century. Instead of celebrating the milestone, Harmanpreet flung her helmet onto the ground and fired verbal volleys at Deepti. Harmanpreet was found guilty of a Level 1 offence, which she had accepted.
Players breaking the stumps – either with the bat or kicking – while reacting to umpiring decisions is a rare occurrence in cricket. Ironically the most recent case also happened in Bangladesh. In 2021, Bangladesh allrounder Shakib Al Hasan was suspended for three matches and fined USD 5800 approx during a Dhaka Premier League T20 match between Abahani Limited and Mohammedan Sporting Club.
Shakib, who was leading Mohammedan, kicked the stumps immediately after umpire Imran Parvez turned down his lbw appeal against Mushfiqur Rahim. An over later, he ripped up all three stumps and threw them on the ground after umpire Mahfuzur Rahman called for the covers as it started to rain